Panther Library Research Portal

Research guide:

• MLA guide

  Our guide to MLA style.

Interactive tutorial:

• MLA Interactive Practice

  Click Start and you will be able to practice creating in-text citations and Reference list citations in MLA by dragging the right elements to the right location.

Handouts and templates:

• Sample MLA PaperDownloadable Word document formatted in MLA style with sample Works Cited list.

   

• Sample Annotated Bibliography in MLA

  Downloadable and printable sample annotated bibliography in MLA format. Created for the EDUC 1300 career project, the annotations describe, summarize, and evaluate each source of information.

Link to handout: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/ld.php?content_id=55756799

• MLA Handout with ExamplesMLA Handout created by CyFair librarians. Includes examples of Works Cited citations and in-text citations.
  
  Link to handout: http://www.lonestar.edu/departments/libraries/cyfair_library/MLA8thedrev17.pdf

   

• MLA Core Elements Worksheet2-page worksheet lists and provides blank space for each of the core elements needed to construct Works Cited entries in MLA.
  
  Link to handout: https://www.lonestar.edu/departments/libraries/cyfair_library/MLA8CoreWS.pdf

   

• Sample Works Cited List for Career Sources

  MLA Works Cited list with citations for different kinds of career sources (like the OOH, CareerOneStop, an article from a database, etc.). Helpful for EDUC 1300 students needing to cite sources in MLA for a career project.
  
  Link to handout: https://www.lonestar.edu/departments/libraries/cyfair_library/careercitationmla8.pdf

Videos:

MLA

• MLA Playlist

  This playlist has videos on: formatting a paper in MLA (Word and Office 365), citing a textbook reading in MLA, citing Wikipedia in MLA, citing journal articles from an EBSCO database, citing ebooks from an EBSCO database, and citing articles from the Credo Reference database.
  
  Use the entire playlist in D2L or just selected videos.

MLA vs APA

• MLA vs APA: YouTube Playlist

  This playlist of four videos describes the differences between MLA and APA in terms of general differences, paper formatting, in-text citations, and Works Cited/References citations.
  
  Use the entire playlist in D2L or just selected videos.

Slide decks:

• MLA Workshop (September 23, 2020)Slides from the Chicago workshop taught by librarian Rachel Evans for the Writing Center on Sept 23, 2020.
  
  Link to slides: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1SKhe_7uoc95OT16P5r1Brfoq-si00-VxjHPnBnPOe_M/edit?usp=sharing

   

• Format a Word document in MLA

  This slideshow will lead you step-by-step through formatting a Word document in MLA style.

• Format an MLA Annotated Bibliography in Word

  Slidedeck with screenshots walks through setting up an MLA annotated bibliography in Word document.

Research guide:

• APA 7th edition guide

  We have help and resources available for both the 6th and 7th edition of APA. This is our guide to the 7th edition.
  
  Link to guide: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/apa

Handouts and templates: 

• APA 7 Citation Guide

  Created by the LSC-University Park library, this PDF has examples of in-text and Reference citations in APA 7 format.
  
  Link to handout: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/ld.php?content_id=52087579

• 

  APA 7 Template (Simplified)

  Download this ready-made template for a Word document formatted in APA 7 style.

Videos:

Format a Word document in APA 7th edition

Cite a textbook reading in APA 7th edition

Cite a journal article from an EBSCO database in APA 7th edition

Cite a webpage in APA 7th edition

Writing Center workshop slides and recording:

• APA Workshop Slideshow (Sept 30, 2020)Slides from the APA 6 and 7 workshop taught by librarian Bronwyn Sutherland for the Writing Center on Sept 30, 2020.
  
  Link to slides: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1cgGNS9TgqvzO8cLjZGNnmutwrejli3xaNzgPp7pnuZo/edit?usp=sharing

   

• Recorded APA Workshop (Sept 30, 2020)

  Recording of the APA 6 and 7 workshop taught by librarian Bronwyn Sutherland for the Writing Center on Sept 30, 2020.
  
  Link to recording: http://cyflib.info/apa6and7

Research guide:

• Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) guide

  Our guide to Chicago-style citation.
  
  Link to guide: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/chicago

Handout: 

• Comparison Chart: MLA, APA, Chicago

  This downloadable document compares magazine and webpage citations in MLA, APA 6th edition, and Chicago citation styles.

Writing Center workshop slides:

• Chicago (CMS) Citation Workshop

  Slides from the Chicago workshop taught by librarian Regina Vitolo for the Writing Center on Oct 7, 2020.
  
  Link to slides: http://cyflib.info/CMS-Fall20

Handouts

• Handout: Is it a peer-reviewed article?This 2-page handout has screenshots and directions for finding peer-reviewed sources in an EBSCO database.
  
  Link to PDF: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/ld.php?content_id=58147475

   

Videos:

Intro to Research Databases

Academic Search Complete playlist

• Academic Search Complete Video Playlist

  YouTube playlist with short videos about all aspects of using the Academic Search Complete database.
  
  Use the entire playlist in D2L or just selected videos.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text playlist

• Nursing & Allied Health Research Playlist

  YouTube playlist with short videos that cover searching, subject headings, and user features in the CINAHL Plus with Full Text database.
  
  Use the entire playlist in D2L or just selected videos.

Credo Reference playlist

• Credo Reference YouTube Playlist

  YouTube playlist with short videos that cover searching, user features, and MLA citations in the Credo Referencedatabase.
  
  Use the entire playlist in D2L or just selected videos.

Ebook Central

Though this video focuses on finding career research in Ebook Central, the information applies to any topic. 

EBSCO eBook Collection

Though this video focuses on finding career research in EBSCO eBook Collection, the information applies to any topic.  

Cite an eBook from EBSCO eBook Collection

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Checklist:

• Evaluating Information Checklist

  Use this checklist developed by the library to help you determine whether or not a source is credible.
  
  Link to checklist: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/evaluating-info

Webpages and Handouts:

• Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines - LSC-CyFairLSC-CyFair Library quick reference to the difference between scholarly and popular publications.
  
  Link to page: https://www.lonestar.edu/library/14734.htm

   

• Handout: Is it a peer-reviewed article?This 2-page handout has screenshots and directions for finding peer-reviewed sources in an EBSCO database.
  
  Link to PDF: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/ld.php?content_id=58147475

   

• Simplified PROVEN HandoutPROVEN is an acronym created by Ellen Carey for evaluating information that stands for Purpose, Relevance, Objectivity, Verifiability, Expertise, and Newness.
  
  This handout was adapted by LSC-CyFair librarians to distill each criterion down to two questions one can ask about a source to evaluate.
  
  Link to PDF: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/ld.php?content_id=58166126

   

• PROVEN Handout and Group Worksheets

  Used by LSC-CyFair librarians in a class lesson plan centered around students learning how to evaluate sources with the PROVEN acronym.
  
  Designed to be printed double-sided, the front of each worksheet includes the PROVEN acronym and guiding questions. The back of each worksheet has a different letter in the PROVEN acronym and guiding questions.
  
  Use by breaking the class into six groups and distributing copies of two information sources to everyone. After examining the sources and answering questions on the worksheet, the class comes back together to discuss which source is more trustworthy according to the PROVEN criteria.
  
  Link to PDF: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/ld.php?content_id=58168443

Tutorials:

• COVID-19 Misinformation Tutorial YouTube Playlist

  Link to the YouTube playlist with all six videos in the LSC-CyFair Library's COVID-19 Misinformation Tutorial.
  
  If you want to embed the Techsmith Knowmia-enabled version with of this tutorial in D2L, contact a librarian. Videos 3-6 include built-in questions that can be integrated into the D2L Gradebook.
  
  For more information on the tutorial, please see https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/faculty/misinformationtutorial

• Zombies in the Library: Evaluating Information Tutorial

  Created by Susan Green, this interactive zombie-themed tutorial teaches students the characteristics of reliable information.
  
  Link to tutorial: http://s3.amazonaws.com/Evaluation/Zombie/story_html5.html

Glossary of Library Terms:

• Library Terms Defined

  LSC-CyFair Librarians created this glossary to accompany the Online Library Introduction (OLI).
  
  For more information on the OLI, go to https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/oli
  
  Link: https://cflibguides.lonestar.edu/oli/glossary#s-lg-box-wrapper-29218941

Webpages:

• Research Coach

  Webpage created by the LSC-CyFair Library to guide you through research steps with six questions.
  
  Link to site: https://www.lonestar.edu/library/research-coach.htm

Videos:

Select a research topic

• Select a Research Topic

  Quick video with tips for selecting a research topic and starting research with LSC Libraries online resources.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/mGdGmt7z6y8

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/mGdGmt7z6y8" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Mapping a research topic

• Mapping Research Topics

  This video walks through creating a concept map/mind map in Google Jamboard for the research topic, "Why people should adopt instead of buying a dog."

Link to video: https://youtu.be/sZlrBWTPYPk

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/sZlrBWTPYPk" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe> 

Videos:

Beyond Library Databases: Research on the Open Web playlist

Link to playlist: https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PL0H3gJS_cmuSilJ-FkywulhTV8alyrpzX

Embed code for playlist: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/videoseries?list=PL0H3gJS_cmuSilJ-FkywulhTV8alyrpzX" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

CareerOneStop

• Using CareerOneStop for Career Research

  This video describes how to find information about careers using the CareerOneStop website.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/3mQPemW1Ml8

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/3mQPemW1Ml8" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

• Cite CareerOneStop in MLA Format

  This video describes how to cite a page from CareerOneStop in MLA format.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/4kI2K7GhF5o

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/4kI2K7GhF5o" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Google Scholar

• Google Scholar Research Tips & Tricks

  Brief video with strategies for searching Google Scholar effectively.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/St1AmWhQH30

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/St1AmWhQH30" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)

• International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) Tutorial

  This brief tutorial introduces the free version of the #IMSLP​ database and demonstrates two basic searches and viewing and downloading a musical score.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/qpDmPTdz-70

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qpDmPTdz-70" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Library of Congress Digital Collections

• Library of Congress Digital Collections: An Overview & Basic Search

  This tutorial demonstrates the collections in the Library of Congress Digital Collections and a basic search.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/pnRg3k0B0zA

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/pnRg3k0B0zA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Occupational Outlook Handbook

• Using the Occupational Outlook Handbook for Career Research

  This video describes how to use the Occupational Outlook Handbook to find information about careers.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/r-FfG0XZG_g

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/r-FfG0XZG_g" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

• Cite the Occupational Outlook Handbook in MLA

  This video describes how to cite a page from the Occupational Outlook Handbook in MLA format.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/qSOahiD4KCc

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qSOahiD4KCc" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

U.S. National Archives

• The U.S. National Archives: An Overview & Basic Search

  This video provides an overview to the U.S. National Archives collections and walks through a basic search.

Link to video: https://youtu.be/d2hiaIrND-k

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/d2hiaIrND-k" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Cite a Webpage in MLA

• Cite a Webpage in MLA

  This video walks through citing two types of webpages - an online news article and a webpage with no author or date - in MLA format.

  more...

Link to video: https://youtu.be/1-fhK92atVE

Embed code for video: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/1-fhK92atVE" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Handouts:

• Summarize, Paraphrase, and Quote: When and How

  Handout with examples of summary, paraphrase, and direct quotations.
  
  Link to handout: https://www.lonestar.edu/departments/libraries/cyfair_library/spq2016.pdf