Websites

Art News Resources

Art News
Useful for keeping up with major developments in the art world.
The Art Newspaper
An international news source for current news in the art world, from museum collections, legal issues, and art trends.
BBC- Culture- Art
Created by the British Broadcasting service, this covers trends, museum coverage, and interesting art facts.
New Yorker Culture Section
Critiques of art, music, and other elements of culture, both for the United States and worldwide.
New York Times Art Section
A national source of trending art/artists, the business of art, and international art collections.
NPR's Art and Design Section
National Public Radio's page dedicated to news stories about art, design, film and world culture.
Reuter's Art Section
Business and sales information about trends in the art world.
Street Art News
Current art and artists that focus on graffiti, mural, and street art.

Dictionary of Art Historians
Created by Duke University, this is a searchable dictionary about art historians.
Google Art & Culture
(Google) A collaborative project of Google and 151 acclaimed art partners from across 40 countries to include over 30,000 works of art from sculpture to architecture and drawings, all in one page. Virtual Reality App:
ICAA Documents (MFAH)
Document archive of Latin American/ Latino art from the 20th century. Register and create an account for access.
Louvre's Guide to Art Terminology
A quick guide to different art terms, their meanings, and how to use them.
The Met's Heilbrunn Timeline
A timeline of art movements with descriptions and images
MoMa's Guide to Art Movements
A guide to the artists and art movements from the MoMa collection.
Museum of No Boundaries-Discover Islamic Art
A guide to different elements of Islamic Art of the Mediterranean.
National Gallery of the United Kingdom
List of the artists in their collection and information about their work.
Tate Museum's Guide to Art Terms
Quick access for definitions of art terms, movements, and artists.
Smart History
Written by PhD level and higher art educators for Khan Academy, this free online art resource has basic guides including videos and description dating from prehistory until the present.

Digital Public Library of America - free web
(DPLA) Over 44 million images, texts, videos, and sound file—s from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia - free web
(Library of Congress) A guide to the performing arts collections (both print and digital) and exhibitions at the Library of Congress. Includes digitized items from the collections and topical compositions such as Civil War Sheet Music and American Choral music.

Google Arts & Culture - free web
(Google) A collaborative project of Google and 151 acclaimed art partners from across 40 countries to include over 30,000 works of art from sculpture to architecture and drawings, all in one page.

Virtual Reality App:
Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - free web
(The Metropolitan Museum of Art) Searchable chronological, geographical, and thematic world history of art from the museum's vast collection.