Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Annotated Bibliography : Databases: Step 3

Where to Look

Step 3: Digging deeper

Now that you have an idea of what to focus on, you can start drilling down deeper on your one, specific topic. This is the real meat of your research and will give you the sources you'll use in your annotated bibliography/final paper.

Research Databases

The databases below cover a wide range of topics, which is useful when you're just starting your deeper research or if you're not sure which subject areas to look in.


Pro-Tip!Pro-Tip! You can search multiple EBSCO at the same time. Go into one database, then look for the "Choose Databases" link above the search bar, then check off the databases you want to use. 

Choose Databases link in an EBSCO databases


Think about exactly what subjects your topic fits into. There may be a specialized database, like the Psychology & Behavioral Sciences collection if you're looking at something psychological or sociological.

News Sources:

These fall into the "reputable but not scholarly" area, but they're very useful for getting more current information than scholarly sources can provide.

Accessing the Databases

Access 100+ databases organized by subject area from the Research Databases page. Also try our dynamic, sortable database list!

Student ID BadgeTo access the databasesAccess only available off-campus with a 14-digit library barcode from LSCS from off-campus, you must provide the 14-digit library barcode from the back of your student ID.

Google

Google has some advanced search tools tucked away to streamline your search results. If you're looking for numerical data, limiting your search to government sites (.gov) can be quite helpful to target some reliable and plentiful data!

Google Web Search

Google Scholar is another useful tool that might help you get started locating, well, scholarly sources. You can even tell it to search Lone Star access to full text!

Google Scholar Search