Skip to Main Content

Annotated Bibliography : Annotated Bibliography: Step 5

step 5 writing and re-writing

MLA: Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a works cited list, but each citation for your sources is followed by a paragraph of explanation and justification: why is this source one of your sources? What does it bring to your research?

You will summarize the relevant information you're getting from that source (but remember, this isn't your paper -- you are summarizing, not presenting all the information itself) as well as how this well help you in your research (by providing background information, by exploring a certain angle, by presenting a contrary idea...).

Creating an annotated bibliography is not simply an academic exercise. An annotated bibliography is a tool to help you summarize your source content and evaluate its place within your research. If a source satisfies your "usefulness" criteria, that source belongs on your annotated bibliography. This process begins the transition from reading sources to incorporating content (ideas, quotes, paraphrasing) into your work. It is time to "make sense" of the knowledge you have gained from your research. This knowledge is the foundation on which to build your own voice, explain your methodology, discuss your conclusions, make and report on your new knowledge. 

Of course, evaluation of sources goes beyond "usefulness" to the other elements of authority, credibility, currency, and purpose.

Consulted Saylor Academy's open access course on research concepts and the writing process:  Research Writing in The Academic Disciplines. Annotated bibliographies have additional purposes that depend on the intent of the writer/researcher and the specific discipline.  
  1. Citation
  2. Annotation is a brief and concise statement about the source. Think in terms of a "note" consisting of 5-6 sentences.
  • One sentence to evaluate why the author is an expert on the topic(authority).
  • A sentence on the intended audience of the source (purpose).
  • A few sentences (perhaps a paraphrase) that explain how this source will illuminate your topic and how you will use the content in your paper (usefulness or relevance).
  • Any other criteria of note for this topic or discipline? 

Example MLA citation and annotation. The annotation reads: The authors, researchers at the Rand Corporation and Rand University (comment on authority/expertise), use data from the national Longitudinal Surveys of Young Women and Young Men to test their hypothesis that nonfamily cohabitation by young adults alters their attitudes, values, plans, and expectations, moving them away from their belief in traditional sex roles (summary of article content). This research expands and reinforces the question central to this paper of evolving attitudes to family and gender roles (relevance to your paper). Smith and Taylor’s article regarding the values of the nuclear family of the 1950s is a good contrast to the nonfamily living studied in this article. (supports research)

 

Get Office365

Get Office365 free via portal.office.com

Get Office365 for free with your student email address: (myLoneStar username)@my.lonestar.edu