Databases A-Z
Hours and Locations
Librarian
For off-campus access, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted after clicking on a database link. No college ID or library card? Request a student ID or library card barcode number.
ABI/Inform Complete
(ProQuest)
Current business information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry, and market-focused trade news, with some historical coverage back to 1900.
Academic Video Online: Premium
(Alexander Street Press)
Full-length videos on various topics, documentaries, instructional materials and limited historical news reports.
Academic Search Complete
(EBSCO) Help
Multi-disciplinary database; full text of articles from over 5,300 journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
Agricola
(EBSCO) Help
Citations for articles, reports and more from the USDA National Agricultural Library from 1970 to present. No full text.
Alt HealthWatch
(EBSCO) Help
Full text for 180 publications, including many peer-reviewed journals, in the areas of complementary and alternative medicine.
America: History and Life with Full Text
(EBSCO) This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back more than 60 years.
American History, 1493-1945 (LSC-University Park)
(Adam Matthew Digital) Search and browse by date, theme, and document type to locate primary sources, thematic guides, and video lectures, sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
(EBSCO) Help
Citations on a wide range of topics related to native populations in the US and Canada. Not full text.
Bloom's Literature
(Facts on File) Essays and criticism examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history.
(EBSCO/H.W. Wilson) Over 270,000 full-text reviews from more than 1,400 American, British, and Canadian periodicals back to 1983.
Business Abstracts with Full Text
(EBSCO/H.W. Wilson) Full-text for articles in close to 460 publications from 1982 to the present.
Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center
(EBSCO)
Full-text database designed to support continuity experts and information professionals. It covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR), including risk evaluation, emergency preparedness and crisis communications.
Business Source Complete
(EBSCO) Help
Provides "journal and magazine full-text articles, financial data, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more."
(EBSCO)
Features the latest news related to colleges and universities and includes employment listings for higher education. Full-text from 1999. Most current month unavailable. Note: Access is also available through http://www.chronicle.com/. Articles not marked as premium content are accessible.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
(EBSCO) Help
Major full-text database in Nursing and Allied Health, with over 560 journals, and more than 600,000 articles dating back to 1937.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. Cochrane Reviews are updated to reflect the findings of new evidence when it becomes available because the results of new studies can change the conclusions of a review.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
(EBSCO)
Full text from over 500 journals for communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
Computer Source
(EBSCO) Help
Full text for nearly 300 publications on computer science, programming, AI, information systems, robotics, and software.
Contemporary Literary Criticism - New
(GALE) Assembles critical responses to the writings of the world's most renowned novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, scriptwriters, and other creative writers who are currently alive or who died after December 31, 1959.
Country Information Sites – free web
CQ Researcher
(CQ Press)
Full-text, balanced, comprehensive journalistic reports and analysis of current and controversial issues of the day.
Credo Reference
(Credo)
Includes materials from over 650 reference books on a variety of topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science.
Digital Theatre + (LSC-Kingwood)
(Digital Theatre Plus). Go behind the scenes of theater productions worldwide with additional commentary, interviews, and production notes linked to full-length videos of plays, opera, dance, and other performances.
Ebook Central
(ProQuest) Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.
EBSCO eBook Collection
(EBSCO) Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account to download to your device.
EBSCOhost Databases
(EBSCO) Help All EBSCO databases.
Education Administration Abstracts
(EBSCO)
Locate bibliographic records for articles related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, with coverage back to 46 years. No full-text, but search the publication title in LSCS Libraries' Full Text Finder to check availability online or in one of the libraries' collections.
eHCPL
Download digital materials (including eBooks, eAudio, music and video) with the help of the free software from the web site to your computer and mobile devices. Use your HCPL or LSCS library barcode to check out the materials (LSCS access - courtesy of partnership between LSCS and HCPL system).
eHRAF World Cultures
Help Guide
(Yale) Contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life and full texts of major anthropological research monographs, periodical articles, essays, dissertations, and photographic collections.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music via Oxford Reference
(Oxford University Press)
Features articles on popular music genres such as jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music from 1900 to the present. Also includes information on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals.
ERIC
(EBSCO) Help
Over 2,200 educational digests, plus citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Essay & General Literature Index
(EBSCO/H.W. Wilson)
Almost 86,000 essays in 7,000+ printed anthologies and collections back as 1985.
Family Studies Abstracts
(EBSCO)
Locate articles from the last 30 years in essential publications in the areas of marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to this discipline. No full-text, but search the publication title in LSCS Libraries' Full Text Finder to check availability online or in one of the libraries' collections.
Films on Demand
(Films Media Group)
High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS.
Fuente Académica Premier
(EBSCO) Help
Full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly academic journals in the Spanish language.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
(EBSCO) Help
General encyclopedia with over 25,000 entries covering a variety of subject areas. (Pre-college)
Gale: Chilton Library
(Gale) Find automotive maintenance and repair manuals as well as practice exams for ASE Technician Tests.
Gale Databases
(Gale Cengage Learning)
All Gale databases.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies (LSC-Kingwood) - formerly GREENR
(Gale) Gale in Context: Environmental Studies is an interactive, interdisciplinary database that offers content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues like global warming, food safety, health care, economic development, and more.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints - formerly Opposing Viewpoints in Context
(Gale) Full text on current social issues from sources including books, statistical reports, and news publications.
Gale in Context: Science - formerly Science in Context
(Gale)
Articles, experiments, videos, and podcasts on the most significant science topics of today.
Contains magazine as well as academic journal and news articles.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
(Gale Cengage Learning) Help
Full-text from a variety of medical, nursing and allied health sources: journals, reference books, pamphlets.
Gale Legal Forms
(Gale) View, add to, and print Texas legal forms in such areas as wills, leases, and divorces.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
(Gale Cengage Learning)
Dozens of complete reference books on arts, business, education, history, law, literature, sciences, and technology, including the popular sets of Short Stories for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, and Drama for Students.
Google Arts & Culture - Free Web
(Google) A collaborative project of Google and 151 acclaimed art partners from across 40 countries to include over 30,000 works of art from sculpture to architecture and drawings, all in one page.
Virtual Reality App:
GreenFILE
(EBSCO) Help
A unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment is offered. Nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.
Grove Art Dictionary - See Oxford Art Online
Full text art reference covering all the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990's with image links.
Grove Music Online (LSC-Kingwood)
Grove Music Online is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Handbook of Texas - free web
(Texas State Historical Association)
Full-text, brief article entries about Texas history & geography.
Health Reference Center Academic - See Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
(Gale Cengage Learning) Help
Full-text from a variety of medical, nursing and allied health sources: journals, reference books, pamphlets.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
(EBSCO) Help
Full text consumer health information from 150 sources on medical sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
(EBSCO) Help
Full text from some 550 scholarly medical journals, plus citations and abstracts from 850 others.
HeritageQuest Online
(ProQuest/UMI) Help
Genealogical research materials including census records, military records, and family and local histories.
History Study Center
(ProQuest)
A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
(EBSCO) A full-text database that includes more than 1500 books and magazines, over 720 videos, 160 hobby profiles, and 3000 recipes from various health organizations, offered in a unique and dedicated user interface. Covers hundreds of hobby and craft making ideas ranging from hat making to model building.
Home Improvement Reference Center
(EBSCO) Includes full-text information from over 120 reference books, magazines, videos and over 35,000 images for subjects such as maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, decoration, home and garden, outdoor improvements, plumbing and wood projects. The information is presented in a unique and user-friendly interface.
Houston Business Journal - free web
(American City Business Journals, Inc.)
Local business news, industry news, and market intelligence for the Greater Houston area. Search back issues from 1996 to the present in their archives.
Houston Chronicle (LSC-North Harris)
(Newsbank, Inc.)
Access to the full-text Houston Chronicle, 1985 to current; in addition, over 2,000 newspapers and other news sources from the US and selected international locations are included.
Houston Chronicle - free web
(Hearst Communications Inc.)
Access the electronic copy of today's Houston Chronicle.
Houston Chronicle Archives - free web
(Hearst Communications Inc.)
Back issue access: 1985 - 2011. Full text only available to subscribers.
Humanities Full Text
(EBSCO/H.W. Wilson)
Full-text articles from over 330 journals encompassing all fields of humanities and periodicals dating to 1910.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
(EBSCO) Help
Index of journal articles, books, research reports, conference proceedings and patents in the information sciences. (Some full text.)
International Clinical Educators Learning Center (LSC-Tomball)
(ICE) A streaming video library with professionally filmed videos featuring actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatment ideas. Contact LSC-Tomball or LSC-HSB Library for login information.
Issues & Controversies
(Facts On File News Service)
Full-text articles from different points of view on important issues in today's news, plus statistics, images, and more.
Job & Career Accelerator
(LearningExpress)
Provides help with matching skills to a career, current job listings, and cover letter and resume preparation. Requires free login so you can save work online. If you are unable to register off campus, please try again using an on-campus computer.
JSTOR
(JSTOR)
Complete historical full text of all issues of peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of humanities and social science fields.
Kanopy
(Kanopy) Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection.
Learning Express Library 3.0
(Learning Express)
Test preparation using practice tests based on official exams. Provides instant feedback on answers to questions. Set up an account to view and save practice tests and review materials. Includes Job & Career Accelerator.
Legal Collection
(EBSCO) Help
Includes full text for nearly 250 scholarly law journals.
Legal Information Reference Center
(EBSCO)
Provides detailed how-to instructions covering a wide range of legal issues and includes access to legal reference books and legal forms.
LexiComp Online for Dentistry (LSC-Kingwood)
(Wolters Kluwer)
A collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that includes an extensive dental and medical reference library, drug alerts and interactions, drug identification, drug dosage calculators, and patient after-care information.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
(EBSCO) Help
Index of over 600 journals plus books, research reports, and proceedings in librarianship and the information sciences. (No full text)
Literature Criticism Online: Short Story Criticism
(Gale) Presents full-text literary criticism on the works of short-story writers of all nations, cultures, and time periods. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, reviews, diaries, newspapers, pamphlets, and scholarly papers.
Literary Reference Center
(EBSCO) Criticisms, synopses, and reviews of authors and their works, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels, as well as full text from over 400 literary journals.
Literature Resource Center
(Gale) Full-text journal articles, critical essays, work overviews & summaries, and author biographies from authoritative sources.
MAS Complete - Upgraded
(EBSCO) Help
Full-text articles from magazines & newspapers, pamphlets, reference books, biographies, and images. (Pre-college)
MasterFILE Complete - Upgraded
(EBSCO) Help
Full-text articles from magazines & journals, and other sources including pamphlets, books, biographies, reports, etc.
MedicLatina
(EBSCO) Help
Spanish-language medical research and investigative journals, including full-text of nearly 100 peer-reviewed publications.
MEDLINE with MeSH
(EBSCO) Help
Medical research; National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database with Medical Subject Headings. No full text.
Merck Veterinary Manual - Free Web
(Merck & Co., Inc.) Concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals.
Micromedex Healthcare Resources
(Truven Health Analytics)
A wide range of clinical databases, including information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
- Micromedex Drug Reference App
Open the app on your device. Enter the password 4uS7ek to begin using Micromedex Drug Reference for Internet Subscribers. Note: The password is case-sensitive. Please enter it exactly as it appears above.
- Micromedex Drug Interactions App
Open the app on your device. Enter the password 4uS7ek to begin using Micromedex Drug Interactions. The password is case-sensitive. Note: Please enter it exactly as it appears above.
- Micromedex IV Compatibility App
Open the app on your device. Enter the password g4NeMu to begin using Micromedex IV Compatibility. The password is case-sensitive. Note: Please enter it exactly as it appears above.
(Truven Health Analytics) Provides evidence-based patient education materials written at a 4th-7th grade level covering conditions, lab tests, follow-up care, and more.
(EBSCO) Help
For middle through high-school research: full-text from nearly 140 magazines, biographies, primary sources, images. (Pre-college)
Military & Government Collection
(EBSCO) Help
Full-text journal articles and magazines on military and political topics, plus books, reports, government documents, etc.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
(EBSCO) Help
Over 200 articles on medical conditions, presenting evidence-based information on alternative therapies proposed for their treatment.
Naxos Music Library (LSC-Tomball)
(Naxos) Thousands of audio tracks from different styles and eras for online listening, plus historical background information.
New York Times (LSC-Kingwood, LSC-University Park users, see the links below)
Search New York Times articles in such databases as US Major Dailies or Opposing Viewpoints.
New York Times (Registration link for LSC-Kingwood only)
(New York Times) Complimentary access to the New York Times online ; use your computer, tablet, or mobile app. To set up your account:
- Enter the name of the college (Lone Star College-Kingwood).
- Follow the instructions to use your LoneStar email to register for your own personal account.
- Your expiration date will display upon registration.
- The New York Times Crossword (full version) and NYT Cooking are not included in your complimentary subscription.
Note: Faculty can register at NYTimesInEducation.com with their LoneStar email for instructor tools and features.
New York Times (LSC-University Park only)
(New York Times) Online and mobile subscription access to New York Times US, International, and Chinese editions. Use your Lone Star email address to create an account.
NewsBank (LSC-North Harris only)
(NewsBank, Inc.) Provides full-text access to over 2,000 newspapers and online news sources from the United States and select international locations.
Newspaper Source Plus
(EBSCO) Help
Selected full-text from 30 US national and international newspapers and 200 regional papers, plus TV & radio news transcripts
Nursing Education in Video
(Alexander Street Press)
Videos created by Medcom-Trainex specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. Login to create a playlist to share or embed videos or static links to videos in online courses.
Opposing Viewpoints - see Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
(Gale Cengage Learning) Help
Full text on current social issues from sources including books, statistical reports, and news publications.
OTSearch (LSC-Tomball)
(AOTA)
Indexes and abstracts of resources in the field of occupational therapy. Citations and abstracts only -- not full text.
Oxford Art Online
(Oxford University Press) includes Grove Art
Full text art reference covering all the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990's with image links.
Oxford English Dictionary (LSC-Kingwood)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It includes present-day meanings and the history of individual words, and of the language.
Oxford Music Online (LSC-Tomball & LSC-Montgomery)
(Oxford University Press)
Online music reference source includes articles from the Oxford Companion to Music, Grove dictionaries of American music, jazz , opera, and musical instruments, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Play Index
(EBSCO/H.W. Wilson)
Thousands of plays and over 600 monologues written or translated since antiquity and published from 1949 to present.
Primary Search
(EBSCO) Help
For elementary school research: full-text from nearly 70 popular magazines, pamphlets, children's dictionary, images. (Pre-college)
Professional Development Collection
(EBSCO) Help
For professional educators: nearly 550 full-text education journals, including 350 peer-reviewed titles, plus over 200 reports.
Project MUSE
(Johns Hopkins University Press)
Full text of 285 journals in literature, history, international/cultural studies and other humanities and social science fields.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
(ProQuest)
Over 30 million digital pages of seventeen American newspapers dating back to the 18th century.
ProQuest National Newspapers - See US Major Dailies
(ProQuest)
Access to LA Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, and the NY Times.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
(EBSCO) Help
Nearly 575 full-text publications, including some 550 peer-reviewed journals, in psychiatry, psychology, and related fields.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) - free web
(Public Library of Science)
Launched in 2003, PLoS features "peer-reviewed, open access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles."
Race Relations Abstracts
(EBSCO)
Locate peer-reviewed research in ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, as listed. No full text, but search for the publication title in LSCS Libraries' Full Text Finder for availability online or in one of the libraries' collections.
Regional Business News
(EBSCO) Help
Full text from business newspapers, magazines, and newswiresthroughout the United States.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
(EBSCO) Help
Over 300 full-text journals, including over 250 peer-reviewed titles, on theology, religious history, epistemology, and philosophy.
s-z | Jump to: a-c d-h i-m n-r
Salud en Español
(EBSCO) Help
Información sobre salud escrito para el público en general - artículos de revistas y otras fuentes. (In Spanish).
Science Online
(AAAS) Help
This full-text, weekly multidisciplinary scientific journal publishes original peer-reviewed research and noteworthy science news (1997 to the present).
Science & Technology Collection
(EBSCO) Help
Over 800 full-text journals; topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computing, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology.
SciTech Premium Collection - New
(ProQuest)
Full-text from an international collection of scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Searchasaurus
(EBSCO) Help
Materials and interface designed for elementary students and their teachers. (Pre-college)
The Serials Directory
(EBSCO) Help
Bibliographic & pricing information for over 212,000 popular US and international newspapers, magazines, and journals. (No full text)
Short Story Index
(EBSCO/H.W. Wilson)
Indexes some 117,000+ stories in over 4,200 collections and anthologies, including full text for almost 5,000 stories back to 1984.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law - New
(Hein Online) Contains an extensive collection of essential legal materials (court cases, trials, statutes, etc.) on along with books, sermons, slave narratives, speeches, periodicals, pamphlets, poems & songs, and much more from the 18th century through the 20th century.
Small Business Reference Center
(EBSCO)
Features some 400 full-text periodicals, over 450 full-text reference books, videos, and business plans.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
(EBSCO)
Features 470 full-text reference books with original photos and illustrations, including detailed instructions for 90,000 repairs on such equipment as chain saws, motorcycles, marine (boats), personal watercraft/jet ski, mowers, string trimmers & blowers, yard & garden tractors.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (Online Edition)
(ProQuest) Help
Comprehensive summary of statistics about the United States people, industries and more. Browse broad subject categories or search to locate statistics or use as a guide to more information in print and on the internet. Sources include the United States government, as well as commercial publishers.
STAT!Ref NOTE: limited concurrent users per book
(Teton Data Systems)
Full-text electronic medical library.
Student Research Center
(EBSCO) Help
Materials and interface designed for students in grades 6-12 and their teachers. (Pre-college)
Sustainability Reference Center - New
(EBSCO) Provides full text for industry-leading journals, magazines, books, trade publications on sustainability initiative management.
Swank Digital Campus (LSC-Kingwood) - New
(Swank Digital Campus)
Swank Digital Campus provides streaming access to feature films. These films may only be viewed through the Swank Digital Campus platform. Films may be shown in class or assigned to enrolled students to view outside of class. The films do not have public performance rights. Films are licensed for one year from the date it is added to the portal.
Teacher Reference Center
(EBSCO) Help
Coverage on key education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science/mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers.
Teaching Books.Net - New
(TeachingBooks.net)
Provides multimedia resources that can enhance and enliven reading experiences in the K-12 environment.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970
(ProQuest/UMI) Help
Maps of property and land-use records for Texas towns and cities for over 100 years.
Texas Reference Center
(EBSCO) Help
Over 80 full-text journals & books on Texas history, culture, and life, biographies of important Texans, and more.
Thomson Gale Databases
See Gale Databases (Gale Cengage Learning)
All Gale databases.
TOPICsearch
(EBSCO) Help
Current events database: over 100,000 articles from diverse sources & points of view, on important social/political/economic issues.
Twentieth Century American Poetry
(Proquest/Chadwyck) Help
Over 50,000 complete poems by over 300 different American poets since 1900.
Twentieth Century English Poetry
(Proquest/Chadwyck) Help
Tens of thousands of complete poems by over 280 different English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh, and Commonwealth poets since 1900.
US Major Dailies - New
(ProQuest)
Provides access to the LA Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, and the New York Times.
Vocational & Career Collection
(EBSCO) Help
Full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Vocational Studies Complete
(EBSCO) This database is specifically designed to provide content for vocational programs at 2-year colleges.
Web News - New
(EBSCO) Near real-time access to top news feeds from around the globe across a range of business and general news topics. Relevant results are displayed when user enters a search.
WorldCat
(OCLC FirstSearch) Help
Searchable catalog of books and other materials in over 45,000 libraries worldwide. No full text.