Ask Us
|
|
| Email a Librarian: |
| HN-Library@Lonestar.edu |
| Contact a Librarian: |
| 281.260.3517 |
| Tutoring Help: |
| 281.260.3119 |
| Testing/Assessment Help: |
|
281.260.3171 or GC.Testing@Lonestar.edu
|
Questions?
Meet the Librarians
Hours
Spring Semester 2024
|
|
|---|
Library will be closed:
- MLK 1/15
- Spring Break 3/11-17
- Spring Holiday 3/29-31
Contact
Email is monitored Monday - Thursday, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. and checked throughout the day during weekends.
Starting Your Research......
Business Principles Guide
This guide provides resources for the arts. This guide is not a comprehensive list of all of the available resources available to LSC-Houston North students and faculty, but is designed to guide researchers through the research process and provide a starting point for accessing materials.
Background Research Start your research by doing some background research. Take time to engage in some mind-mapping exercises that will help you identify key subject terms. Encyclopedias and other reference resources can be used to help you refine your subject terms and the citations in these sources can be used to find more information on your topic. Browse Business Encyclopedias Browse Business Dictionaries Make a Plan Consider how much time you have to complete your assignment and how hard it will be to get the resources you need for your topic. If you are finding your research difficult to manage, narrow your topic or break your research down into manageable sub-topics. If you are not finding enough information on your topic, try using broader subject terms. Next . . . Find Books & Media Find Articles |
Recommended Online Resources
- Houston Business Journal - free web
(American City Business Journals, Inc.) Local business news, industry news, and market intelligence for the Greater Houston area. Search back issues from 1996 to the present in their archives. - Houston Chronicle - free web
(Hearst Communications Inc.) Access the electronic copy of today's Houston Chronicle - Patent and Trademark Database - free web
(U.S. Patent & Trademark Office) United States patents, trademarks, abstracts, full-text and images available. - ThomasNet® - free web
(Thomas Publishing Company) Includes Thomas Register® and Thomas Regional® and is a comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Free registration is required to view company records. - Yahoo! Finance incl. Historical Stock Prices - free web
(Commodity Systems, Inc. (CSI)/Hemscott Americas) Search for a company by name or ticker symbol. On the company's page, click "Historical Data" in the options row. Select a date range and specify daily, weekly, monthly or dividend information. View the resulting table and/or download it to a spreadsheet. - Historical Stock Quotes-Big Charts - free web
(MarketWatch, Inc./Dow Jones & Company) Allows users to input a company's stock symbol and find high/low/closing stock prices for currently-traded companies from 1970 to the present. - Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance - free web
(General Services Administration) Comprehensive listing of assistance programs administered by 57 Federal Agencies.
Note to Faculty
Are you a faculty member teaching courses in this subject? If so, you can recommend resources for this guide or request a course or assignment specific guide by contacting the librarian, at HN-Library@Lonestar.edu.